Skip to content


Members of the Academy of Primary Care in discussion around a table

Our staff


Professor Joanne Reeve, Professor of Primary Care Research

Joanne is a practising GP and the Director of Research for the Academy of Primary Care.

As Professor of Primary Care Research, Joanne leads work to build the profile, capacity and impact of primary care and primary care scholarship – locally, nationally and internationally.

Joanne joined Hull York Medical School in 2017 to establish the Academy of Primary Care - championing innovative scholarship driving excellence in primary care provision.

Joanne is internationally known for her expertise in medical generalism. Her research and scholarship focuses on redesign of primary care on expert generalist principles. 

Professor Joanne Reeve's profile

Education team

Dr Clare Fozard is a GP Portfolio Fellow leading work to develop and deliver innovative research-led generalist education to undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

Dr Paul Whybrow, Senior Lecturer, is a member of the core Academy of Primary Care team and also Director of the Medicine with a Gateway Year undergraduate programme.

The CATALYST team consists of four Fellows and eight tutors who both deliver our current programme and develop the new programme for September 2024. The team also supports outreach work with the regional Vocational Training Schemes

The Fellows are:

  • Farah Khatib
  • Kerry Leadbetter (Year 1 lead)
  • Stephen Opare-Sakyi (Year 2 lead)
  • Andrew Papanikitas

The CATALYST tutors are:

  • Adedoyin Alao
  • Stuart Kennedy
  • Rebecca Khan
  • Charlotte May
  • Helen Speechley
  • Charlotte Stephenson
  • Manjula Vakkund
  • Joseph Wall

We work closely with the undergraduate Primary Care Education Team led by Dr Howard Skinner (Director of Education). Howard works with a team of Associate Directors to support general practice teaching across our patch. Our newsletter goes out to all teaching practices in the region. If your copy isn’t arriving, please contact us:

Research team

Our research team is led by Professor Joanne Reeve, Director of Research for the Academy of Primary Care.

Academic clinical trainees

We regularly host academic clinical trainees including Foundation Year, Academic Clinical Fellows, In Practice Fellows and postdoctoral training

Current staff include:

  • James Bennett, NIHR IPF
  • Andrew Moriarty, NIHR CL

Recent alumni include:

  • Efi Andah (aFY2)
  • Nicholas Broadwell (aFY2)
  • Laura Douglas (ACF)
  • Tom Johnson (aFY2)
  • David Smith (ACF)
  • Joel Spink (aFY2)

PhD students

  • Molly Megson. Supervisors: Joanne Reeve, Myriam Dell Olio, Andrea Hilton

We welcome expressions of interest from new PhD students interested in primary care redesign topics. Please contact:

Administrative Team

Contact us

We welcome enquiries about our research, or if you are interested in collaborating, visiting or postgraduate research opportunities with us.

You can also subscribe to the Academy of Primary Care newsletter.