Hull York researcher named Chief Investigator of the Year

26 July 2023
research awards ci of the year

Research teams from across Yorkshire and Humber came together in Leeds on Thursday 13 July 2023 to celebrate their achievements at the CRN Yorkshire and Humber Research Awards 2023. 

Over 140 nominations were received across 12 categories, showcasing the best in research and innovation, with winners, and those recognised as highly commended, receiving awards or certificates at the event.  

Among the winners was Dr Michael Crooks, Hull York Medical School Senior Lecturer in Respiratory Medicine and Lead of the ground breaking SENTINEL project, which seeks to support the region’s 40,000 asthma patients to manage their condition proactively to reduce asthma attacks and the environmental impact of asthma and its treatment. 

In awarding the prize, the committee noted that, "Dr Crooks is trail blazing - locally, nationally and internationally - in the field of respiratory research.  

"One example to highlight is the SENTINEL programme, where his contribution led to our understanding of how to tackle the over reliance on short-acting beta-agonists (SABA) to treat acute asthma symptoms. This has led to Global Advisory Boards exploring how to improve asthma care across high, middle and low income countries and to meeting with the World Health Organisation to discuss SENTINEL being included as a case study in an upcoming 'Intention to Action Series'.  

"He also leads on the Lung Health Check which has recruited over 8,500 patients locally and aims to help diagnose lung cancer at an earlier stage when treatment may be more successful." 

Dr Crooks was presented with his CI of the Year 2022-23 award by Michele Moran, Chair of the Partnership Group at CRN Yorkshire and Humber, and Chief Executive of Humber Teaching NHS Foundation Trust. 

In additional good news for Hull York Medical School, Dr Sean Pymer, Academic Clinical Exercise Physiologist, was Highly Commended in the Research Allied Health Professional of the Year category. 

Amber O’Malley, Chief Operating Officer for the NIHR CRN Yorkshire and Humber, said: "Congratulations to all our winners, those highly commended teams and colleagues, all the finalists and nominees. I’d like to extend my thanks to everyone who has played a part in driving forward the health and care research agenda in the region. It is an incredible privilege to be able to recognise and celebrate the inspirational work of NHS teams, primary, community and social care research staff who, together, work tirelessly to help us continue to improve treatments and care for people in our region." 

Among the winners and recipients of Highly Commended honours throughout the evening were a number of colleagues from across our NHS Trust and Primary Care partners, including: 

  • Early Career Researcher / Associate PI of the Year: Claire Marshall, Humber Teaching NHS Foundation Trust (Highly Commended) 

  • Chief Investigator of the Year: Professor Sunil Bhandari, Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (Highly Commended); and Professor James Turvill, York and Scarborough Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Highly Commended) 

  • Research Practitioner of the Year: Silvia Madrid-Willingham, York and Scarborough Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (Winner); Andy Hall, Rotherham Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust (Highly Commended) 

  • Best contribution in non NHS setting: 0-19 Research Network, Sheffield Children's NHS Foundation Trust, Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust, Leeds Beckett University, Institute of Health Visiting, School and Public Health Nurses Association (Winner) 

  • Outstanding Contribution to Research Management: Priyai Parkinson, Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (Winner) 

  • Best Public Engagement Contribution: Grounded Research Team, Rotherham Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust (Winner); COMIC Research Team, Leeds and York Partnership NHS Trust (Highly Commended)  

  • Best Patient Experience: Mark Fearnley, York and Scarborough Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Highly Commended); Karon Foster, Humber Teaching NHS Foundation Trust (Highly Commended)  

  • Research Team of the Year: James Alexander Family Practice, Hull (Highly Commended) 

Visit the CRN Yorkshire and Humber website to read more about the Awards and their winners